Why Turning Worry Into Gratitude Will Make You (and Me) Rich

5image

It’s time for me to take a breath, relax, and chill out in these waning days of summer. Maybe the same is true for you. Worrying is part of my DNA, unfortunately, but fortunately I know that in most cases, it’s a wasted and useless emotion. Right up there with guilt.

It doesn’t matter what I worry about—my grown kids, my husband’s health, (which is excellent, BTW), my finances (also in terrific shape), my job, friends, plans for vacation, you name it, all good. Still, I worry.

Last week, when a column I wrote as a guest blogger for len penzo dot com went viral after being reprinted on “Business Insider,” I worried when I read a handful or so negative comments about my practice of saving $5 bills. While many readers responded with supportive comments such as “thanks for the great tip” and “amazing way to save,” I got hung up on the vitriol of the negative naysayers. (“WTF, This is news?” and “Not impressed!”)

Why? What good does it do me to focus my energy on other people’s negative energy? Absolutely none. We’ve all heard it before. What other people think of me is none of my business.

The secret to reducing our worries is to celebrate what’s good and positive in our lives. Adopting an attitude of gratitude for what we do have is the first step to discarding the fear associated with what we don’t have. Same is true of the hurt that comes when another person judges or criticizes us, instead of focusing on our good points. Fear gives away our power. Gratitude multiplies the good feelings inside.

Want more money in your life? Be thankful for the abundance and blessings you already have.

I’m six weeks into writing this blog; some of you are six weeks into saving your $5 bills. Other readers have just started putting this simple savings habit into practice. Either way, let’s really get this comment page rolling. Readers, what are you thankful for? Give us your top 5 things. I’ll start
.
1. I’m thankful for the hubby, daughters, sons-in-laws and Chocolate Lab that sustain me.
2. I’m thankful for the daily excuse (this blog) to write again.
3. I’m thankful for all the friends and readers who’ve made their way to my blog at http://www.savemoneyfastwithfives.wordpress.com.
4. I’m thankful for my job as a college professor and all the lessons my students have taught me.
5. I’m thankful that I’ve saved $36,000, all in $5 bills.

How about you? Please join in on the conversation or else I’m going to worry that you don’t like me, or my blog. Have a great week and thanks for stopping by.

Yours in Fives,
Marie

9 thoughts on “Why Turning Worry Into Gratitude Will Make You (and Me) Rich

  1. I could almost guarantee you that the haters lost their shirts in the stock market nosedive last week, and they’re sour because your 36 large is nice and cozy in the bank. As for me, I ended my meager monthly $50 contribution to an emerging market mutual fund on Wednesday the day before the global markets tanked, and Saturday morning increased my monthly cash contribution to my savings account to $150. That’s about $5 a day each month. Boom!-drop the mike.

    • Good timing on the emerging market fund, Julie. I think people are haters for all sorts of reasons, money being one of them.

  2. How about you? Please join in on the conversation or else I’m going to worry that you don’t like me, or my blog. Have a great week and thanks for stopping by.
    ———Hey! You’re funny and you have money (36,000)! Totally things to be grateful for! All the best with your blog! Light and Love, Shona

  3. I recently had an epiphany about saving fives. I used to save just ones, but do you want to know something? People seem to scoff at getting paid off with a collection of ones! Like it is too inconvenient to have to bother to count them! So I started to cache the fives. I use my debit almost exclusively. But when I go to the store I usually pull out a five at the cashier. Why? Because I know that five is going to my secret stash. It’s a savings hack. Just like I round up every transaction to the next dollar in my checking account. Just like everyday, without fail, I put three dollars in a savings account in one of my online savings accounts. That covers the cost of coffee I make for myself every morning. I don’t go to Dunkin’ Donuts because my coffee tastes better. I save momey in dribs and drabs, but I save consistently and when I have enough saved in this fund or that account it gets parlayed into something that will garner me more interest or into a stock that looks ripe for the picking. People will hate you and try to bring you down a peg because they know you found a way to be at peace with how to make your money work FOR YOU. Let them hate! Perhaps someday they will have an epiphany as well…

  4. Hi Marie:
    I just started following you. Here are my responses to the 5 things I’m currently thankful for:
    1) I am thankful for finding this blog!
    2) I am thankful for having time and luxury to study and prepare for the GRE.
    3) I am thankful for my boyfriend, family, and close friends.
    4) I am thankful for being healthy.
    5) I am thankful for the opportunity to move to a new place where I can start anew.

    • Love this list, especially that you’re thankful for the time to prepare for the GRE. Time is such a precious commodity that we all want more of. Time with friends and family. Time to take vacations from work. Time at the end of the work day to pursue our passions. Makes me wonder how many highly paid executives would work for less money if they had more time off, away from work. Thanks for your comment and for following the blog.

  5. Amazing blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m alittle lost on everything. Would you advise starting witha free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..Any tips? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

