Save Your $5s and Rest Easy All Year

I’ve been a less frequent blogger the past few months, bogged down with my job as a college professor, and too busy to promote the idea of saving $5 bills with the same vigor as when I started SaveMoneyFastWithFives last summer.

In the spirit of Christmas, dear readers, I hope you’ll forgive me.

And during this season of Christmas, when we spend a lot of time worrying about how much it’s all going to cost, I have reason to cheer: I’ve already deposited $165 in my fives savings account this month and December still has 11 days to go.

Another way to explain my less frequent posts the last few months is that after a while, how much more can I say about my practice of saving $5 that I haven’t already? My husband said he is amazed that I’ve been able to write about this savings habits from so many unique angles. But here’s the thing: Even when the practice gets boring, even when I can’t think of anything new to say about it, it still works. It’s tried and true.

And that’s why I do it, why I save every $5 that I get back in a cash transaction. Because it’s easy to implement, even easier to maintain as a regular practice, and because it works.

Saving each and every $5 bill that passes through your hands will add up to a sizeable nest egg over time. Mine is nearing $40,000. after more than 12 years.

Very few of us are immune from fears about holiday spending or post holiday debt. But adopt the SaveMoneyFastWithFives savings plan, and rest easy now and all year long. Happy holidays!

Yours in Fives,

Marie

2 thoughts on “Save Your $5s and Rest Easy All Year

  1. I have saved $460 in 3 months saving my fives and I am thrilled! The fact that you are nearing $40,000 is awesome! Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I look forward to coming up with some different ways to save fives in the New Year,

  2. Pingback: Awareness through Money: Of Feldenkrais and Finances | à la carte spirit by ilona fried

Leave a Reply

